Nickelodeon Can’t be that Dumb – Book 2 of The Legend of Korra Might Not Have a Set Release Date Yet

Back to one of my all-time favorite blogging topics: the Nickelodeon network. Only this time, I’m here to defend their most recent acts of stupidity. Over the last few months, there have been several instances where Legend of Korra fans have almost expected an announcement for Book 2’s release date. In both instances, fans were severely disappointed.

The first instance was when fans expected a trailer of some sort to air during the television premiere of The Last Airbender. I don’t really feel like reiterating why exactly this was expected, but if you’re interested in that, you can read my first official “I Hate Nickelodeon” fan mail that I posted a few months ago.

After the fandom got over that, we all got our hopes up for the Nickelodeon Upfront 2013 where Nickelodeon revealed their television line up for the upcoming year. Most of us expected them to announce a Book 2 release date since a Book 1 release date had been announced at the 2012 Upfront. We were disappointed once again when no news showed up, and all of you unleashed your anger into an open thread I posted when I was too disgusted to rant.

I’ve now digested most of this ridiculousness and I think I’m starting to see things a bit more clearly. What if Nickelodeon hasn’t revealed a release date because they literally don’t know it themselves? What if we’ve been complaining about not having information that doesn’t even exist? It’s certainly a possibility, and it might even be reality.

The unfortunate thing about me as a blogger is that I’m no Reality Steve. I haven’t paid off people within the network to feed me information, nor do I ever plan on doing so. Maybe it’s because I just don’t care enough to do it, or maybe because it’s because I expect executives to laugh in my face if I ever tried to do so. Either way, I really know nothing about this matter.

I don’t know for sure if a set release date for Book 2 has been announced within the Nickelodeon Network, but based on how I see it, it doesn’t appear as though one has been set.

Nickelodeon is a multi-million dollar company, folks. They can’t be as stupid as I’ve written them off to be. I’ve belittled and pointed fingers at them out of frustration. I’ve joked about their network being run by a bunch of monkeys. But the people within the network are still very intelligent.

I still think the network is run by a bunch of morons, but it would be stupid of me to insult their intelligence because – well – they aren’t stupid. They’re a bunch of millionaires rolling in money earned from baseless, humorless, laugh-tracked shows that are in par with the pile of sh*t that Disney has been dishing out.

But who cares about my opinion? When you have millions of viewers per episode, you’re obviously doing something right. Maybe it’s the inner maturity in me that’s coming out to say, don’t watch that garbage! Maybe all of these shows are actually awesome and I’ve become too mature to enjoy them. I personally think the acting, directing, writing and humor is god-awful, but that’s just me.

What I’m really trying to get to here is that Nickelodeon knows what they’re doing. I feel weird saying this because I’ve repeatedly written that Nickelodeon doesn’t know what they’re doing, but I think they actually do. They have to. Clearly their pay checks are more important than the quality of their shows.

Book 2 of The Legend of Korra will come when it comes. There is really no point in guessing when it’ll come out at this point, but just understand that it’s coming. Speculating a release date for a release date is also a little silly because – honestly – you’re wondering when the release date for the release is?

Let’s all just relax and let Nickelodeon do whatever it is that they need to do. Let them make their dumb shows, and more importantly, let them announce Book 2’s release date whenever they’re ready because frankly, I’m not so sure that they even have a release date set yet.

Please leave your thoughts in the comments below. Keep it friendly.

32 Responses

  1. I disagree with the idea that Nickelodeon is run by intelligent people making stupid mistakes.

    Argument 1) Firefly

    Argument 2) The SyFy Network

    Argument 3) Fox News.

  2. The point is the show is coming and we can at least expect a release date for this year. (and hopefully a date for Book 1 dvd) We’ll take the news when it comes but aside from that we just gotta be patient.

    • Exactly. Patience is the key. We’ll get the release date eventually, so there is no point in whining about not having it at this point. I kind of calmed myself down a little bit in this post.

  3. I’ve been waiting for the release date for Book 2 for The Legend of Korra for months and then you told me nothing for that.

  4. Maybe… But I Still think Nickelodeon is hiding something because Grey Delisle said she has info she can’t say in an interview.

  5. That’s kind of what I was talking about in another comment I posted a few days ago. We have to have faith in Bryke and faith in Nickleodeon that when the time is right, Book 2 will have a set date and trailer. We can’t make the process go faster by jabbing them on Twitter, Facebook, and email. We just have to tell them, “All my friends and I can’t wait for book 2 of Legend of Korra!”. It’s counter productive swearing and lashing out at them and pointing out their stupidity (although I admit that’s exactly what I was doing). But like you, I have taken a deep breath and common sense has returned. Just letting them know that you haven’t forgotten about LOK is good enough to get the message accross that when book 2 is finished, the fandom will return. We might get some more news at that Comic con in Houston, but lets not get our hopes up that high maybe. I think we can however expect some bits and pieces of info from now until the infamous April.
    So that was my opinion of the day, I hope to hear from your blog soon!
    -Filmeditor16

  6. I guess it could be a lot worse, at least they aren’t doing what my favorite video game animal crossing has done to me which was give us a release date but keep changing it!!!!
    Animal Crossing new leaf was suppose to come out 2 years ago but then there was the earth quake in Japan (were its made)

    and then they decided they wanted to make all these changes to game so every few months they gave us a different “release date”… its coming in January, no sorry April, no May… we finally got the real date which is in June ( because they have the English cover for the game online).

    I would rather nick give us no dates rather than do what animal crossing did, that was ssssssoooooooooooo annoying!!!

    young justice, LOK, animal crossing… is every fannon being screwed over!?

  7. Look on the bright side people, at least we will have the trilogy from the Search to tide us through until the eventual launch of Korra Season 2!! Only 2 more weeks for The Search Part 1!!! Can’t wait.

    What do you guys think?

  8. This worries me. WHat if they lied to us? What if Korra isn’t coming back?

  9. It’s kind of a “release it and they will come” thing.

  10. Please come out on my birthday please come out on my birthday*23*23*23*23* MARCHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Be the LEAF! Relax,it’s official people! There IS a book 2,we only have to wait. The creatord are funny,smart,cool,intelligent,…people,it’s their jobs. They work a lot for us. We should appreciate that what they do for us. Be patience,that’s the message.

  12. I am not so concerned about the release date or when it is coming. I am more concerned at how nick handle Korra news in general. They do not really understand how to deal with fandoms, they do not keep us up to date with any Korra news. A prime example being that just 2-3 days ago the official facebook page finally got around to posting about the Bryan Book 2 colour correction session image.
    Where is a trailer or an actual mention from nick that “Hey guys, Book 2 is actually happening” , as they have never mentioned it outright.

    Nick needs to learn how to better communicate with fans. They get much of the ratings because of fans. Because seriously outside of people who have been on fansites who actually knows that Book 2 of Korra actually is confirmed. Which is the big issue, so many people are unsure if Book 2 is actually coming. It has been around 8 and a half months since Book 1 ended and outside of SDCC 2012 which was very early after book 1 ended we have heard nothing in an official capacity that is not the staff/crew on social media.

    Nick are not all bad, as at least we can have complete confidence that Book 2, 3 and 4 will all air and the show will not be cancelled. How many other shows out there can say that. After Young Justice, Tron, Motor City and Green Lantern and even Star Wars The Clone Wars, we are lucky that Nick will for sure air Korra. That said it does not excuse complete radio silence for 8 months.

    • Couldn’t have said said it better myself, Air Speed! Nickelodeon needs to work on their communication with the fans for certain.

  13. I’ve become extremely patient over the past months because I know that it’s worth the wait. Maybe they’re taking a while because they are trying to make it as good as possible. And I’m positive that it’s going to be awesome if it takes this long.

  14. I’ve stoped caring about how long it’ll take for book 2 to come out. As long as I love it as much as I love book 1 I’m fine. (Although, part of me still wishes that it would come out sooner rather than later.)

    • Everything is done,now they re making some sounds effects,like walking with Korra’s boots in the snow,rope swing-soudns ,the details,color corrections are also not done yet. Release date is coming closer and closer!

  15. Oh please, this is shitty journalism, so you write an article only to bitch about Nick when you have no idea how those things works.

    • Dammnnn I thought I was being nice to Nickelodeon. And wow I’m offended! This isn’t journalism, these are my opinions! I’ll just assume that you’re from Reddit.

Share your Thoughts with a Comment: